Lipedema, you scare me - life after liposuction

This article may seem unusual for me because I always try to keep my head up and make the best of my situation. But pain teaches you respect and in the acute moment has a power that you can hardly understand. And then it is there, this gloomy cloud that tries to stifle the painfully cherished glimmer of hope. This is my post-liposuction life.

I have lipedema, the lipedema doesn't have me. Not me. God, when does this effort stop ...

There it is again. My mantra that the years since my diagnosis have made me walk upright and that this time too I tried hard. But I feel exhaustion spreading Please not again, not this pain again.

Hello pain, old companion.

They are coming. With quiet steps and stalking steadily for a year. Pain as I know it all too well. Many months after my operation I was quiet, was even able to live without compression and was enjoying the break from lipedema. My life revolved around something other than this disease, which wanted to make my life hell from a young age.

But at some point I noticed a twinge, a harbinger that I could not be saved after all.

- Knock Knock.
- Who's there?
- Lippie ...
- Lippie-who?
- Lippie-fuckin 'edema. Did you miss me?

I know my body and haven't waited long for the new restoration. This result had to be preserved after the operation, by all means. But as you probably guessed it from this article, my fight is not won yet.

Déjà-vu: I thought that after the liposuction there would be peace

If I had one wish, I would wish that I could not return to the state before the surgery, please. I could no longer drive a car, because after 3/4 hour the journey usually had to be broken off. The same was true for the train and the pain to touch that followed me every step of the way in everyday life. I was 26 and watched the quality of my life deteriorate rapidly. Within five years the pain in my legs and arms should develop so dramatically that I no longer recognized myself.

Dear fairy godmother, I already know the dead end. Please take me somewhere else.

The pain has been increasing again for half a year and I recognize this speed again. And it feels threatening - lipedema, you scare me. I let you suck 12 liters out of my body. Tried to stop feeding you the best I could. Tried to treat your pain away for so many hours. And yet we are sitting here again, together on the train, together in the car, united at the concert, familiar after a hard day.

lipoedem fashion outfit rainy day yellow outfit yellow rain liposuction slimming fear

Lipedema, you are an uninvited guest

Rain is followed by sunshine. There it is again, my glimmer of hope. The spark that defiantly bares my teeth. We women are lionesses. We do not see it at all, to be surrounded by an underground demon and we will not surrender to him without a fight. Not with us, not with me.

This is my life and I only have one thing. You have no control over me. With or without liposuction.

Lipedema, you're an asshole and assholes have no future. Let's see who has the longer breath.

Cheer up you lionesses.


If you liked the article, Caroline would be very happy if you could buy her a virtual cup of coffee!

lipedema-fashion-outfit-purple caroline sprott

Author: Caroline Sprott

I'm Caroline, born in 1989 and live in Augsburg. Why did I start the lipedema fashion blog? At the beginning of my diagnosis I was completely helpless before an uncertain future. Now, a few years later, through active participation in self-help groups and a lot of research, I have accumulated a wealth of experience that I would like to make available to other affected persons in one place - without the detour via private groups on Facebook. The fashion component is of course due to my hobby. At the time, I promised myself that I would never be restricted by compression stockings. This attitude gives other patients courage and so Michaela advised me to start a blog.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

  • : - ((I recognize myself so much in this post <3 Thank you Caroline for being who you are. It's fun to read your blog and I find it an enrichment.
    Thank you
    hug yourself

  • Oh no - I'm so sorry. I've lived with pain for 30 years and it got worse and worse. I only had the diagnosis for 1 year. And for about 4 years I have had an extreme increase in pain and exhaustion. IM very desperate. Unfortunately, your story also shows that there is nothing that can permanently relieve this pain. I wish you that there is no further aggravation!

    Due to my pain and exhaustion and two other chronic illnesses, I currently have an objection to the determination of a GdB run. Unfortunately, lipedema is also ignored or not taken seriously by the reviewer. The compression (arms and legs) brings a certain limitation in life. May I ask if you have a GdB and how high it is?

    Kind regards, Michaela

      • Dear Caroline,

        I'm sorry to read this. I can understand the thoughts 1: 1. I haven't had an operation, but the limitations in the quality of life and the pain don't always make it easy to stay strong and positive. Thank you for being so transparent and open. May I ask indiscreetly whether the GdB of 40% was "only" awarded for lipedema? I will soon have an appointment with my company doctor because I am increasingly limited and hope to be relieved of a GdB and the additional payment. I very much hope that the pain doesn't get worse for you!

        • Hello Simone,

          No, I have additional restrictions apart from lipedema that played a role. But depending on the severity, lipedema can also contribute to the inability to walk and thus achieve a higher percentage.

          Best regards,
          Caroline

  • Dear Caroline,

    I feel so much for you right now! You have been a role model to me for a long time and I always follow your blog with excitement.
    We mustn't let ourselves get down and we keep fighting against it!

    Send you very warm greetings from Franconia
    sandra

  • Dear Caroline, keep fighting bravely! A question at this point, have you - or anyone else here - heard of quadrivas therapy? A Dutch woman developed this, probably based on some Asian massage technique, and she claims that with regular applications over a year she can cure lipedema stage 1 + 2 (!) And can reduce stage 3 by up to 80%. I'll add a link, but if it's problematic, just delete it again:
    http://www.quadrivas.nl/en/lipoedeem-4/
    I would be interested to know what's behind it - it sounds too good to be true ...
    Be brave!

  • How would you describe your pain Like stabbing, pulling, throbbing? Sometimes I don't know whether the pain is caused by varicose veins or lipedema.

  • Carolin Your report touches me very much. I can understand it. The course is not so bad for me. I am 51 years old and my lipedema was diagnosed 5 years ago and has been treated since successful. Now I have my own lymphomat to purify the legs. I use lymphatic drainage for 8 hour every day and 1 minutes twice a week. I hope that the Lipposuctions will soon be taken over by the KK. THANK YOU for your blog. All the best, you are a great and strong woman

  • Hello, great written by you.
    I know that doesn't really help anymore ...
    a specialist once said to me that liposuction should only be done from the age of 28 and that planning for children should be completed ... probably all because of the hormones. Of course, no one can guarantee that it will come back. That's why I'm always thinking about whether you should really do the surgery ... on the other hand, you don't want to continue like this in the long run.

    • Thank you Simone!

      Glad I did them, but there are days when it's hard to keep your head up. It's all better than it was before the operations, but the threat doesn't go away until there's a cure. You always stay on guard.

      Best regards,
      Caroline

  • Thank you very much for this honest contribution!
    Everywhere you just read how great everything is after the operation and how well you feel afterwards. But it is just not curable, even if there are doctors who claim this. I'm so advanced now that I will need the surgery, but I know that it will only take away the pain for the time being and make me more flexible. Nothing more and for how long remains to be seen.
    I wish you will feel better soon!

Lipödem, du machst mir Angst – Das Leben nach der Liposuktion

Dieser Artikel scheint womöglich ungewöhnlich für meine Person, denn eigentlich bin ich immer bemüht, meinen Kopf oben zu halten und das Beste aus meiner Situation zu machen. Aber Schmerzen lehren einem Respekt und haben im akuten Moment eine Macht, die man kaum begreifen kann. Und dann ist er da, diese düstere Wolke, die den mühsam gehegten Hoffnungsschimmer versucht zu ersticken.

Ich habe Lipödem, das Lipödem hat nicht mich. Nicht mich. Gott, wann hört dieser Kraftaufwand nur auf …

Da ist es wieder. Mein Mantra, dass mich die Jahre seit meiner Diagnosen hat aufrecht gehen lassen und es auch dieses mal krampfhaft versucht. Aber ich fühle Erschöpfung sich breit machen. Bitte nicht schon wieder, nicht schon wieder diese Schmerzen.

Hallo Schmerz, alter Weggefährte.

Sie kommen. Mit leisen Schritten und seit einem Jahr stetig herangepirscht. Schmerzen, wie ich sie nur zu gut kenne. Viele Monate nach meiner OP hatte ich Ruhe, konnte sogar ohne Kompression leben und genoss die Auszeit vom Lipödem. Mein Leben drehte sich mal wieder um etwas anderes als diese Krankheit, die mir schon in jungen Jahren das Leben zur Hölle machen wollte.

Doch irgendwann merkte ich ein Zwicken, ein Vorbote, dass ich doch nicht erlöst sein könnte.

– Klopf, klopf.
– Wer ist da?
– Lippie …
– Lippie-wer?
– Lippie-fuckin‘-Ödem. Hast du mich vermisst?

Ich kenne meinen Körper und habe gar nicht lange mit der neuen Versorgung gewartet. Es galt dieses Ergebnis nach der OP zu konservieren, mit allen Mitteln. Aber wie ihr mit diesem Artikel es sicherlich ahnt, mein Kampf ist noch nicht gewonnen.

Déjà-vu

Wenn ich einen Wunsch frei hätte, dann wünschte ich mir, dass ich bitte nicht in den Zustand vor den OPs zurück gelange. Ich konnte kein Auto mehr fahren, denn nach einer 3/4 Stunde musste die Fahrt meistens abgebrochen werden. Das gleiche galt für den Zug und den Berührungsschmerz, der mich im Alltag auf Schritt und tritt verfolgte. Ich war 26 und sah dem raschen Verfall meiner Lebensqualität zu. Innerhalb von fünf Jahren sollten die Schmerzen in Beinen und Armen sich so dramatisch entwickeln, dass ich mich nicht mehr wiedererkannte.

Liebe gute Fee, die Sackgasse kenne ich schon. Bitte bring mich woanders hin.

Seit einem halben Jahr nehmen die Schmerzen wieder zu und diese Geschwindigkeit erkenne ich wieder. Und sie fühlt sich bedrohlich an – Lipödem, du machst mir Angst. Ich habe 12 Liter von dir aus meinem Körper saugen lassen. Habe versucht, dich so gut es geht nicht weiter zu füttern. Deine Schmerzen so viele Stunden weg zu therapieren versucht. Und doch sitzen wir wieder hier, zusammen im Zug, gemeinsam im Auto, vereint auf dem Konzert, vertraut nach einem anstrengenden Tag.

lipoedem mode outfit regentag gelb outfit yellow rain

Lipödem, du bist ein ungebetener Gast

Auf Regen folgt Sonnenschein. Da ist sie wieder, mein Hoffnungsschimmer. Der Funke, der mich trotzig die Zähne fletschen lässt. Wir Frauen sind Löwinnen. Wie sehen es gar nicht ein, von einem unterirdischen Dämon eingekesselt zu werden und wir werden uns ihm nicht kampflos ergeben. Nicht mit uns, nicht mit mir.

Das ist mein Leben und habe nur dieses Eine. Du bekommst keine Gewalt über mich.

Lipödem, du bist ein Arschloch und Arschlöcher haben keine Zukunft. Wollen wir sehen, wer den längeren Atem hat.

 

Kopf hoch, ihr Löwinnen.

 

lipoedem mode outfit ornaments gelb medi sommer kleid

Author: Caroline Sprott

Ich bin Caroline, 1989 geboren und wohne im Mittelhessischen Wetzlar. Warum habe ich den Lipödem Mode-Blog ins Leben gerufen? Am Anfang meiner Diagnose stand ich völlig hilflos vor einer ungewissen Zukunft. Jetzt, einige Jahre später, habe ich durch die aktive Anteilnahme in Selbsthilfegruppen und viel Recherche einen Erfahrungsschatz ansammelt, den ich gerne an einem Ort gebündelt anderen Betroffenen zugänglich machen möchte – ohne den Umweg über private Gruppen bei Facebook. Die modische Komponente ist natürlich meinem Hobby geschuldet. Ich versprach mir damals selbst, mich niemals von der Kompressionsbestrumpfung einschränken zu lassen. Diese Einstellung macht anderen Patientinnen Mut und so riet mir Michaela dazu, einen Blog ins Leben zu rufen.

Leave a Comment

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • :-(( ich erkenne mich so sehr wieder in diesen Beitrag <3 Danke Caroline das du so bist wie du bist. Es macht Spass deinen Blog zu lesen und ich empfinde ihn als Bereicherung.
    Danke
    knuddel dich mal

  • Oh nein – das tut mir so leid. ich lebe seit 30 Jahren mit den Schmerzen, die immer schlimmer wurden. Seit erst 1 Jahr habe ich die Diagnose. Und seit ca. 4 Jahren habe ich eine extreme Zunahme der Schmerzen und der Erschöfung. Ich bin sehr verzweifelt. Deine Geschichte zeigt leider auch, dass es nichts gibt, was diese Schmerzen dauerhaft nehmen kann. Ich wünsche Dir, dass es keine weitere Verschlimmerung gibt!

    Aufgrund meiner Schmerzen und der Erschöpfung und zwei weiterer chronischer Erkrankungen habe ich derzeit einen Widerspruch zur Feststellung eines GdB laufen. Das Lipödem wird leider auch vom Gutachter ignoriert, bzw. nicht ernst genommen. Dabei bringt ja die Kompression (Arme und Beine) schon eine gewisse Einschränkung im Leben. Darf ich fragen, ob Du einen GdB hast und wie hoch er ist?

    Liebe Grüße, Michaela

      • Liebe Caroline,

        Tut mir leid das zu lesen. Ich kann die Gedanken 1:1 nachvollziehen. Ich habe keine OP gehabt aber die Einschränkungen in der Lebensqualität und die Schmerzen machen es nicht immer einfach stark und positiv zu bleiben. Danke das du so transparent und offen bist. Darf ich so indiskret Fragen ob der GdB von 40% „nur“ für das Lipödem vergeben wurde ? Ich habe bald einen Termin bei meinem Betriebsarzt da ich zunehmend einschränkt bin und hoffe auf einen GdB und auch in der Zuzahlung entlastet zu werden. Ich hoffe sehr das die Schmerzen nicht schlimmer werden für dich!

        • Hallo Simone,

          Nein, ich habe zusätzliche Einschränkungen abseits vom Lipödem, die mit hineingespielt haben. Aber je nach Schweregrad kann Lipödem ja auch zur Gehunfähigkeit beitragen und damit einen höheren Prozentsatz erzielen.

          Liebe Grüße
          Caroline

  • Liebe Caroline,

    ich fühle grade so sehr mit dir! Du bist mir seit langem ein Vorbild und ich verfolge euren Blog immer mit Spannung.
    Wir dürfen uns nicht unterkriegen lassen und wir kämpfen weiter dagegen!

    Schicke dir ganz liebe Grüße aus Franken
    Sandra

  • Liebe Caroline, kämpfe mutig weiter! Eine Frage an dieser Stelle, hast du – oder jemand anders hier – schon mal von der quadrivas-Therapie gehört? Eine Niederländerin hat diese entwickelt, wohl ausgehend von irgendeiner asiatischen Massagetechnik, und sie behauptet, mit regelmäßigen Anwendungen über ein Jahr hinweg Lipödeme Stadium 1 + 2 heilen(!) zu können, und Stadium 3 bis zu 80% reduzieren zu können. Ich füge mal einen Link ein, aber falls der problematisch ist, lösch ihn einfach wieder raus:
    http://www.quadrivas.nl/en/lipoedeem-4/
    Mich würde interessieren, was dahinter steckt – es klingt zu schön, um wahr zu sein …
    Bleib tapfer!