Lipedema Checklist - What To Do After Diagnosis?

Lipedema diagnosis

Once you have found the right doctor for you and have made the crucial appointment and the lipedema diagnosis behind you, unfortunately, like many, you will stand like an ox in front of the mountain. A checklist is needed that provides a good overview for the first steps after the diagnosis.

The lipedema checklist after lipedema diagnosis

What must be on the recipe?

Compression stockings
For the legs
1 pair of compression tights, KKL 2 (or 3), open toe / closed toe (as desired),
Flat-knitted made to measure, individual finishes
Diagnosis: lipedema / lipolymphedema
1 additional pair for alternating supply for hygienic reasons

For the poor
Upper arm - wrist + gloves:
1 pair of arm socks G - C, KKL 1 (2 or 3)
1 pair of gloves AC (D or E), KKL 1 (2 or 3)
Flat-knitted made to measure, individual finishes
Diagnosis: lipedema / lipolymphedema
1 additional pair for alternating supply for hygienic reasons

You can find all variants here . If you want to be on the safe side, just call your medical supply store beforehand and ask if they would like something else on it.

Possible mistakes

  • No decongestion phase before taking the measure
  • Incorrect knitting technique: circular knitting is for lipedema not suitable
  • Please don't forget that Exchange supply!

Manual lymphatic drainage (MLD)

For lipedema patients, too, lymphatic drainage can often be a sense of achievement and pain relief. Above all, it is recommended as a preventive measure. Have a 6 recipe for 45 minutes (whose arms are also affected 60 minutes) and try it out for you. There are 6, 10 and 24 recipes.

Make an appointment with the medical supply store

Please turn it off for the morning, because your size is still at its best. If you have had accompanying lymphedema from lipedema, wait until after the decongestion phase to take care of it. With them you then make all the subtleties for the supply. At the beginning you have to experiment a lot, because there are several manufacturers that all have their advantages and disadvantages. Personally, I like the quality of Medi the most, but Juzo has an even thinner fabric, which can be more comfortable for you. There are still Jobst and Bauerfeind, I haven't tried the former personally, I cannot recommend the latter.

Fitting on pickup

Please insist on being able to try on the supply when you pick it up in order to be able to discuss defects or complaints directly. It is, however, the case that the stockings only become really soft and elastic after 3–4 washes. So bring a little patience or enough dirty laundry with you 😉

Skin care

Your skin has to get used to the new fact of being in thick tights for most of the day, and in the further course it is important that you take care of your tissue. It needs more moisture than ever and then itches less. Which products you can try is in this article about Juzo care and in this about Medicare. You can find tips on skin care here.

Exercise

Every movement, no matter how short or light, stimulates your lymph flow and at the end gives you a little relief. Even when or especially when you are in pain, as with other clinical pictures, you should not be too strong in the relieving posture, but rather go on the offensive and counteract it with active movement.

Possible sports despite lipedema diagnosis:

  • everything that you feel comfortable with and that does not overload you
  • Swimming
  • Cycling
  • Walking and hiking
  • flowing movements

You can find more ideas in our section Exercise with lipedema.

Application for a Lympha Press device for the home

villa-sana lympha press lipedema diagnosis checklist lymphomat
You can apply for this beautiful home device to be of support at home. The sample application is unfortunately no longer online, which you can then send to your health insurance company. But your doctor will certainly help you with the application.

Rejections from the health insurance company of your applications always contradict

In many cases, the health insurance company rejects applications. But don't let that get you down and fight for your right to remedies! You can also become a member of the VdK be helpful.

Dealing with the compression

You can do what you have to pay particular attention to when taking care of your supplies in this article ...

Best regards,
Handwriting

lipedema-fashion-outfit-purple caroline sprott

Author: Caroline Sprott

I'm Caroline, born in 1989 and live in Augsburg. Why did I start the lipedema fashion blog? At the beginning of my diagnosis I was completely helpless before an uncertain future. Now, a few years later, through active participation in self-help groups and a lot of research, I have accumulated a wealth of experience that I would like to make available to other affected persons in one place - without the detour via private groups on Facebook. The fashion component is of course due to my hobby. At the time, I promised myself that I would never be restricted by compression stockings. This attitude gives other patients courage and so Michaela advised me to start a blog.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * marked

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

  • Hello everyone,

    for our website we once took the liberty of linking this article. 😉
    Will not be the last link. Just too good ...

    Thank you very much.

  • Hello, the vein doctor was lip / lymph bland
    Now looking for a good doctor.
    1. Doesn't accept anyone anymore
    2nd appointment end of April

    So wait. How should I eat myself.I am gaining more and more weight.I am 48 years old and still in the middle of the menopause
    Come from the district of pirmasens

    • Hello dear Steffi,

      look here or at jameda for a doctor in your area.

      Since, to my knowledge, there are no scientifically proven diets for edema patients, we only have to worry about a calorie deficit if we want to lose weight. No matter what type of diet is supposed to lead to weight loss, the goal is always to burn more calories than you consume. I recommend our nutrition category, where you can find many articles on different approaches, reading and recipes.

      Best regards,
      Caroline

  • Really useful tips. Back then I was standing there like the ox in front of the new barn door! Of course you have to inform yourself and read well, but the posts and comments in this self-help group have, to be honest, brought me a lot further. By the way, I'm the elderly woman here, stolye 73 years old. My keyboard is crazy, it never again types the last letter of the alphabet. CRAP !!

  • Hello Carolin,
    You write here:
    1 pair of tights and
    the pair of changes ...
    That means a total of 4 tights.
    Does the health insurance pay for that?

    • Hello Ivo,

      Exactly, 2 supplies per half-year, 4 a year in total. Unfortunately, it cannot be said in general that all health insurances approve this. But basically you should apply for it and try it. My health insurance has approved it since the diagnosis. 🙂

      Best regards,
      Caroline

  • Hello Caroline. After a long search, I now have appointments with 2 different doctors to make a diagnosis. 1 in May the other in June. I have a question about compression. How many pairs of compression stockings, for example, are you entitled to from the cash register in which period? And are stockings better than tights? I'm really looking forward to your answer. Lg Kirstin Weber from Neu Anspach

    • Hello Kerstin,

      You are entitled to a supply + an alternating supply for hygienic reasons at the beginning, then one every six months. But in general, if you need more, you can also apply for it. I always got two in the semester and some apply for more and even get them approved. That depends heavily on the clerk.

      Which type works better for you depends very much on your body, your strength and your everyday life. Since you're just feelest approach gradually with a good medical supply store.

      Lovely wishes
      Caroline

  • Dear Caroline, I admire you how you deal with lipedema. I will be 78 years old next month and have lipedema since menopause. Always had stable legs before. But no doctor has ever recognized my illness. At my age I can't get any more compression .... get out alone. Wear the Lymphofit leggings from ANITA.
    Thanks again for your article.
    Kind regards ... Gisela
    NBR. Can't do sports because of knee problems.

  • Hello, what is the decongestion phase? I have to fight a lot with lymphedema, especially in the heat, stage 2 lipolymphedema, was diagnosed about 4 weeks ago. If it were only the swelling, I would also have severe pain, burning ... .. even with cooling sprays, elevated storage, aqua aerobics, MLD it doesn't get any better 🙁 thanks for the information, Lg from Austria, Birgit

    • Hello Birgit,

      the acute congestion phase extends over a few weeks, during which you receive daily lymphatic drainage with subsequent wrapping and then a suitable flat-knit compression to maintain the condition. Maybe rehab would also be worth considering?

      Best regards,
      Caroline

  • Hello Caroline
    I also have lipoedema on my arms and legs, and always open spots on the lower leg. And 4 weeks ago the mega-event, since then the water has been running liters from my legs. No doctor says anything about it and I have the feeling of great perplexity Have you ever heard of something like this, you would be very grateful.
    LGAstrid

    • Hello Astrid,

      But that sounds mainly like lymphedema. Please get a second opinion from another doctor whether you are really being properly cared for.

      Best regards,
      Caroline

  • Hi I have in November, received 20, the diagnosis lipoedema stage second Since then I've been wearing compression leggings and have lymphatic drainage every week. I also go to the gym at least twice a week, and ride and dance twice a week during the carnival season. Now I would like to further promote my legs and have a Lympha Press device prescribed for me. Unfortunately, my family doctor and the phlebologist are a bit sparing with prescriptions, which is why my dermatologist now also prescribes lymphatic drainage for me ... How do I have to proceed to apply for such a device?

    Kind regards and thank you very much!

Lipödem-Checkliste – Was ist nach der Diagnose zu tun?

Lipödem Diagnose

Wer erstmal den richtigen Arzt für sich gefunden und den entscheidenden Termin und die Lipödem Diagnose hinter sich gebracht hat, wird leider wie viele wie ein Ochs vorm Berg stehen. Eine Checkliste muss her, die einen guten Überblick für die ersten Schritte nach der Diagnose bietet.

Die Lipödem-Checkliste nach der Lipödem Diagnose

Was muss auf dem Rezept stehen?

Kompressionsbestrumpfung
Für die Beine
1 Paar Kompressionsstrumpfhosen, KKL 2 (oder 3), offene Spitze / geschlossene Spitze (nach Wunsch),
flachgestrickt nach Maß, individuelle Zurichtungen
Diagnose: Lipödem /Lipolymphödem
1 zusätzliches Paar zur Wechselversorgung aus hygienischen Gründen

Für die Arme
Oberarm – Handgelenk + Handschuhe:
1 Paar Armstrümpfe G – C, KKL 1 (2 oder 3)
1 Paar Handschuhe A-C (D oder E), KKL 1 (2 oder 3)
flachgestrickt nach Maß, individuelle Zurichtungen
Diagnose: Lipödem /Lipolymphödem
1 zusätzliches Paar zur Wechselversorgung aus hygienischen Gründen

Alle Varianten findet ihr hier. Wenn ihr auf Nummer sicher gehen möchtet, ruft einfach vorher noch mal bei eurem Sanitätshaus an und fragt, ob sie noch was anderes drauf stehen haben möchten.

Mögliche Fehler

  • Keine Entstauungsphase vor dem Maßnehmen
  • Falsche Stricktechnik: Rundstrick ist für Lipödem nicht geeignet
  • Bitte vergesst nicht die Wechselversorgung!

Manuelle Lymphdrainagen (MLD)

Auch für Lipödem Patienten kann die Lymphdrainage oft ein Erfolgserlebnis und Schmerzlinderungsein. Vor allem ist es präventiv zu empfehlen. Lasst euch ein 6-er Rezept für 45 Minuten (wessen Arme auch betroffen sind 60 Min.) ausschreiben und probiert es für euch aus. Es gibt 6er, 10er und 24er Rezepte.

Termin mit Sanitätshaus ausmachen

Macht ihn bitte für Morgens aus, denn da ist euer Umfang noch am besten. Solltet ihr ein begleitendes Lymphödem durch das Lipödem bekommen haben, wartet mit der Versorgung bis nach der Entstauungsphase. Mit denen macht ihr dann alle Feinheiten zur Versorgung aus. Am Anfang müsst ihr noch sehr viel experimentieren, denn es gibt mehrere Hersteller, die alle ihre Vor- und Nachteile haben. Ich persönlich mag die Qualität von Medi am meisten, Juzo hat jedoch noch dünneren Stoff, der für euch komfortabler sein kann. Es gibt noch Jobst und Bauerfeind, ersteres habe ich persönlich noch nicht ausprobiert, letzeres kann ich nicht empfehlen.

Anprobe bei der Abholung

Bitte besteht darauf, die Versorgung bei Abholung anprobieren zu dürfen, um direkt Mängel oder Reklamationen besprechen zu können. Es ist jedoch so, dass die Bestrumpfung erst nach 3–4 Wäschen wirklich richtig weich und elastisch wird. Daher bringt ein wenig Geduld oder genug Schmutzwäsche mit 😉

Hautpflege

Eure Haut muss sich an den neuen Umstand, jeden Tag für die meiste Zeit in einer dicken Strumpfhose zu stecken erst gewöhnen und auch im weiteren Verlauf ist es wichtig, dass ihr euch um euer Gewebe kümmert. Es braucht mehr Feuchtigkeit denn je und juckt dann auch weniger. Welche Produkte ihr probieren könnt, steht in diesem Artikel über Juzo-Pflege und in diesem über Medi. Tipps zur Hautpflege findet ihr hier.

Bewegung

Jede Bewegung, und sei sie noch so kurz oder leicht, stimuliert euren Lymphfluss und verschafft euch am Ende ein wenig Linderung. Auch wenn oder gerade wenn ihr Schmerzen habt, solltet ihr, wie bei anderen Krankheitsbildern auch, nicht allzu stark in die Schonhaltung, sondern eher in die Offensive gehen und mit aktiver Bewegung dagegen halten.

Mögliche Sportarten trotz Lipödem Diagnose:

  • alles, womit ihr euch wohl fühlt und was euch nicht überlastet
  • Schwimmen
  • Radfahren
  • Walken und Wandern
  • fließende Bewegungen

Weitere Ideen findet ihr in unserer Rubrik Sport mit Lipödem.

Antrag auf Lympha Press Gerät für Zuhause

villa-sana lympha press Lipödem Diagnose checkliste lymphomat
Ihr könnt einen Antrag auf dieses wunderschöne Heimgerät stellen, um auch zuhause unterstützend zu wirken. Der Musterantrag ist leider nicht mehr online, den ihr dann an eure Krankenkasse schicken könnt. Aber euer Arzt hilft euch sicherlich bei der Antragstellung.

Ablehnungen von der Krankenkasse eurer Anträge immer widersprechen

In vielen Fällen lehnt die Krankenkasse Anträge ab. Aber lasst euch davon nicht unterkriegen und kämpft für euer Recht auf Heilmittel! Hier kann euch auch eine Mitgliedschaft im VdK hilfreich sein.

Umgang mit der Kompression

Worauf ihr besonders bei der Pflege eurer Versorgungen achten müsst, könnt ihr in diesem Artikel nachlesen.

Liebe Grüße
Handschrift

lipoedem-mode-outfit-lila caroline sprott

Author: Caroline Sprott

Ich bin Caroline, 1989 geboren und wohne im Mittelhessischen Wetzlar. Warum habe ich den Lipödem Mode-Blog ins Leben gerufen? Am Anfang meiner Diagnose stand ich völlig hilflos vor einer ungewissen Zukunft. Jetzt, einige Jahre später, habe ich durch die aktive Anteilnahme in Selbsthilfegruppen und viel Recherche einen Erfahrungsschatz ansammelt, den ich gerne an einem Ort gebündelt anderen Betroffenen zugänglich machen möchte – ohne den Umweg über private Gruppen bei Facebook. Die modische Komponente ist natürlich meinem Hobby geschuldet. Ich versprach mir damals selbst, mich niemals von der Kompressionsbestrumpfung einschränken zu lassen. Diese Einstellung macht anderen Patientinnen Mut und so riet mir Michaela dazu, einen Blog ins Leben zu rufen.

Leave a Comment

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

  • Hallo Ihr Lieben,

    für unsere Webseite haben wir uns mal erlaubt, diesen Artikel zu verlinken. 😉
    Wird nicht die letzte Verlinkung sein. Einfach zu gut …

    Danke sehr.

  • Hallo, war beim venen arzt lip/ lymph öden
    Jetzt auf der suche nach gutem arzt.
    1. Nimmt niemand mehr an
    2. Termin ende april

    Also warten. Wie soll ich mich ernähren.ich nehm immer mehr zu.ich bin 48 Jahre und noch mitten in den wechseljahre
    Komme aus kreis pirmasens

    • Hallo liebe Steffi,

      schau doch mal hier oder bei jameda nach einem Arzt in deinem Umkreis.

      Da es keine wissenschaftlich belegten Ernährungsweisen für Ödempatienten meines Wissens nach gibt, bleibt uns vorerst nur für ein Kaloriendefizit zu sorgen, wenn man abnehmen möchte. Egal welche Ernährungsart zur Gewichtsreduktion führen soll, das Ziel ist es immer, mehr Kalorien zu verbrauchen, als man zu sich nimmt. Ich empfehle dir hierfür unsere Kategorie Ernährung, wo du viele Artikel über verschiedene Ansätze, Lektüre und Rezepte finden kannst.

      Liebe Grüße
      Caroline

  • Wirklich nuetyliche Tipps. Ich stand damals auch da wie der Ochs vorm neuen Scheunentor!!! Natuerlich muss man sich informieren und belesen, aber die Postings und Kommentare in dieser Selbsthilfegruppe haben mich ehrlich gesagt ein ganyes Stueck weiter gebracht. Ich bin uebrigens die Seniorin hier, stolye 73 Jahre alt. Meine Tastatur spinnt, sie tippt mir nie mehr den letyten Buchstaben des Alfabets.M I S T !!

  • Hallo Carolin,
    Du schreibst hier:
    1 Paar Strumpfhosen und
    das Wechselpaar dazu…
    Das bedeutet ja eine Ausstattung von insgesamt 4 Strumpfhosen.
    Zahlt das denn die Krankenkasse?

    • Hallo Ivo,

      genau, 2 Versorgungen pro Halbjahr, 4 im Jahr insgesamt dadurch. Man kann leider nicht pauschal sagen, dass alle Krankenkassen das genehmigen. Aber grundsätzlich sollte man es beantragen und es versuchen. Meine Krankenkasse hat es seit der Diagnose so genehmigt. 🙂

      Liebe Grüße
      Caroline

  • Hallo Caroline. Ich habe nach langer Suche nun Termine bei 2 verschiedenen Ärzten zur Diagnosestellung. 1 im Mai der andere im Juni. Ich habe mal eine Frage zur Kompression. Wieviel Paar z.b. kompressionsstrümpfe stehen einem in welchem Zeitraum von der Kasse zu? Und sind Strümpfe besser als Strumpfhosen? Bin schon sehr auf Antwort gespannt. Lg Kirstin Weber aus Neu Anspach

    • Hallo Kerstin,

      Es steht dir eine Versorgung + eine Wechselversorgung aus hygienischen Gründen am Anfang zu, dann halbjährlich eine. Aber generell gilt, wenn du mehr benötigst, kannst du diese auch beantragen. Ich habe immer zwei im Halbjahr bekommen und manche beantragen auch mehr und bekommen sie sogar bewilligt. Das ist stark von Sachbearbeiter abhängig.

      Welche Art für dich besser funktioniert, ist sehr von deinem Körper, deiner Kraft und deinem Alltag abhängig. Da tastest du dich einfach nach und nach mit einem guten Sanitätshaus heran.

      Ganz liebe Grüße
      Caroline

  • Liebe Caroline, ich bewundere dich wie du mit dem Lipödem umgehst. Ich werde im nächsten Monat 78 Jahre habe auch das Lipödem seit der Menopause ersichtlich. Hatte vorher immer schon stabile Beine . Aber kein Arzt hat je meine Erkrankung erkannt . Ich kann in meinem Alter keine Kompression mehr anbekommen….werder alleine aus . Trage von der Firma ANITA die Lymphofit Leggings.
    Nochmal lieben Dank für deinen Artikel.
    Liebe Grüße…Gisela
    NBR. Kann wegen Knieprobleme keinen Sport mehr machen.

  • Hallo, was ist die Entstauungsphase ? Hab massiv mit Lymphödem zu kämpfen, besonders bei Hitze, hab Lipolymphödem Stadium 2, Diagnose vor ca 4 Wochen bekommen. Wenn’s nur die Schwellung wär, hab auch starke Schmerzen, Brennen …..selbst mit kühlenden Sprays, Hochlagern, Aquagymnastik, MLD wird’s nicht besser 🙁 danke für Infos, Lg aus Österreich, Birgit

    • Hallo Birgit,

      die akute Enstauungsphase erstreckt sich über ein paar Wochen, in denen du täglich Lymphdrainage mit anschließender Wicklung bekommst und dann eine passende Flachstrickkompresion, die den Zustand erhalten soll. Vielleicht wäre auch eine Reha eine Überlegung wert?

      Liebe Grüße
      Caroline

  • Hallo Caroline
    Habe auch Lipoedeme an Armen und Beinen,ausserdem immer offene Stellen an dem Unterschenkel.Und vor 4 Wochen der Supergau,seitdem läuft mir mir das Wasser Literweise aus den Beinen.Kein Arzrt sagt etwas dazu und ich hab das Gefühl von grosser Ratlosigkeit macht sich breit.Hast du Schon mal von so etwas gehört,wäre sehr dankbar.
    L.G.Astrid