5 tips for the right purchase of shoes with lipedema

Unfortunately, I notice more and more how many lipedema women are cared for incorrectly on their feet.

When we talk about therapeutic measures, we often only think of flat knit, manual lymphatic drainage in connection with Sport and Nutrition one. But there is more we can do to keep the pain and consequential damage under control.

A large number of lipedema women are also overweight, which is why the joints are severely affected even without lipedema. Unfortunately, the lipoedema fat promotes the misalignment of the legs again immensely and that is why many women already have to wear orthopedic insoles to reduce pain while walking.

But unfortunately it is not enough with just deposits. Even the best orthopedic insole only works if it is allowed to work on the right, solid surface.

My 5 tips for buying shoes with lipedema

  1. Fixed heel cap to support the heel for a secure stance
  2. Thicker shoe sole, so that the load on the foot sole is inhibited
  3. Footbed - with pad and side support
  4. Possibly lacing - because with a lymph component, the width of the foot changes during the day, so re-lacing is an advantage
  5. Don't buy too short to avoid pressure on the toes and ensure the perfect rolling movement

I know that some women find it difficult to dig deeper into their pockets for their shoes and like to fall back on shoes from the supermarket discounter or similar. My request to you:

Do something good for yourself and consider several factors when buying shoes, because our feet carry us for a lifetime and must be protected.

Not everyone has the necessary financial background to spend € 150–200 when buying shoes with lipedema. But it doesn't have to be.

My tip: even the big, well-known brands always have discount campaigns for models from the previous year or similar, which do not take advantage of the quality. These shoes can usually be worn for years and in my opinion a higher price is worthwhile. So let's go to the great retail stores in your city. Let us advise you, try it out and still try something new.

Handwriting_Jule
lipoedem fashion jule team

Author: Jule Prekel

Hello, I'm Jule, born in 1993 and work in my parents' shoe store in beautiful Emsland in Lower Saxony. I got my diagnosis in 2016 after seven years wondering what was wrong with my body. The diagnosis gave me new strength, new hope. I no longer hid, I lived with the disease that was now mine. Fashion helped me a lot, it has always been my constant companion and yet I learned how to deal with it much more intensively. I love to dress well, to develop exciting color combinations and to put my body in a different light. Nobody should hide behind ill-fitting clothes and that should be my message on this great blog.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

    • Dear Catinka,

      That's individual for everyone. Personally, I love to wear Paul Green or Gabor, but I don't have any extreme foot problems either. The workmanship and the footbed are very important to me ... try it yourself 😉

  • "In my opinion, a higher price is worth it"

    The question is not whether you think a higher price is not worth it. And buying cheap shoes has NOTHING to do with being stingy and therefore "would like to fall back on shoes from the supermarket discounter or similar". "With pleasure". Such statements are hurtful. I would very much like to buy better shoes that don't pinch and last longer.

    The question is how to B. with a low EM pension and top-up through social assistance ever discounted, but still finance expensive brand shoes. Do you actually know how expensive shoes in size K and larger are? Especially when they should look reasonably good and not granny? My current shoes are 3 years old, had cost 55, - € and were the only ones affordable after saving that I could find in Weite K, Medicus brand by Deichmann, Not nice, but Weite K. I can't go for what I want like what I can pay for. By the way, these shoes are my only shoes =, for spring, summer, autumn and winter, for three years. Their condition is corresponding.

    Comfortable and optimally good-looking clothing in plus sizes is only possible for people with enough money. But not z. B. for people like me who were torn from the middle of their professional life and have since seen how they get along. Then having to read that you "like to wear shoes from the supermarket discounter or something similar" and shouldn't do that (which you know yourself and don't want to)
    l is cynical and hurtful.

    • Dear Mia,

      I am so sorry that my article hurt you so personally. I hope you believe me that wasn't my intention!

      If you have to live in a financial situation as you describe it, I am fully aware that you have to manage your money very differently and that sometimes you have no other options.

      I wish you a nice weekend, best regards.

      Christmas

  • Hi Jule! As if I had guessed it, I smiled at two pairs of shoes today: once sandals by Waldläufer in width H and once Gabor ankle boots, both from last season, both reduced; where I would have to ask about the sandals from the medical supply store. After all, 10% just went down because I asked.
    I totally agree with you: if you have good shoes, they will last longer than a season. The most beautiful fashion shoe is of no use if it makes me feel more painful.
    I would have liked to know a few more brand names from you.

    • Hey you 🙂

      Well that was fate !! Sometimes you just have to buy it and yes - ask the price again, often there are still options!

      I always struggle with brands because it is completely individual. I love Paul Green, sometimes Gabor too… but I don't need fullness either. So everyone has to find the right partner for themselves somewhere ...

      Regards!!

  • Hello
    I am Anita 40 years old
    Mother of three and got
    The diagnosis was made in the middle of last year.
    But thank goodness I've only had tights for three days.
    What fashion can I wear?

    • Hello Anita,

      it's a bit like asking which car to drive. 🙂 It depends so much on your taste, your figure and your budget.
      However, many buy from Asos, C&A, Ulla Popken, Sheego or Navabi. There are many opportunities.

      Best regards,
      Caroline

  • My sister wants to buy rangers for women. Thank you for the tip that even with well-known brands there are regular discount campaigns on last year's models that don't take a beating in quality. I also think it's important that shoes can be worn for several years.

  • For me, thick shoe soles are the be-all and end-all. I also wear orthopedic insoles. Without this, I get instant pain. In addition, sneakers help me especially everything else becomes difficult.

5 Tipps für den richtigen Schuhkauf mit Lipödem

Leider fällt mir immer öfter auf, wie viele Lipödem Frauen an den Füßen falsch versorgt sind.

Wenn wir über Therapiemaßnahmen sprechen fällt uns oftmals nur die Flachstrick, die manuelle Lymphdrainage in Verbindung mit Sport und Ernährung ein. Doch wir können noch mehr tun, um die Schmerzen und die Folgeschäden im Griff zu halten.

Eine Vielzahl der Lipödem Frauen ist zudem noch übergewichtig, weshalb die Gelenke auch ohne Lipödem schon stark in Mitleidenschaft gezogen werden. Das Lipödemfett begünstigt leider die Fehlstellung der Beine noch mal immens und deswegen müssen viele Damen bereits orthopädische Einlagen tragen, um Schmerzen beim Laufen zu mindern.

Doch leider ist es nur mit Einlagen nicht getan. Auch die beste orthopädische Einlage funktioniert nur, wenn sie auch auf richtigem, festen Untergrund funktionieren darf.

Meine 5 Tipps für euren Schuhkauf mit Lipödem

  1. Feste Hinterkappe, zur Unterstützung der Ferse für einen sicheren Stand
  2. Dickere Schuhsohle, sodass die Belastung auf die Fußsohle gehemmt wird
  3. Fußbett – mit Pelotte und Seitenstütze
  4. Möglicherweise Schnürung – denn mit einem Lymphanteil verändert sich die Fußbreite über Tag, sodass ein Nachschnüren von Vorteil ist
  5. Nicht zu kurz kaufen um Druck auf die Zehen zu vermeiden und die perfekte Abrollbewegung sicher zu stellen

Ich weiß, dass sich einige Damen schwer tun für das Schuhwerk tiefer in die Tasche zu greifen und gerne auf Schuhe vom Supermarktdiscounter o. ä. zurückgreifen. Meine Bitte an euch:

Tut euch selbst was gutes und bedenkt mehrere Faktoren beim Schuhkauf, denn unsere Füße tragen uns ein Leben lang und müssen geschützt werden.

Nicht jeder hat den nötigen finanziellen Background beim Schuhkauf mit Lipödem 150–200 € auszugeben. Aber das muss auch nicht sein.

Mein Tipp: auch die großen, bekannten Marken haben immer Rabattaktionen von Vorjahresmodellen o. ä., die in der Qualität nichts einstecken. Diese Schuhe sind in der Regel über Jahre tragbar und da lohnt sich meiner Meinung nach auch ein höherer Preis. Also los mit euch, ab in die tollen Einzelhandelsgeschäfte in eurer Stadt. Lasst euch beraten, probiert aus und probiert doch ruhig mal etwas neues aus.

Handschrift_Jule
lipoedem mode jule team

Author: Jule Prekel

Hallöchen, ich bin Jule, 1993 geboren und arbeite im Schuhgeschäft meiner Eltern im schönen Emsland in Niedersachsen. Meine Diagnose bekam ich 2016, nachdem ich mich sieben Jahre lang fragte, was mit meinem Körper nicht stimmt. Die Diagnose gab mir neue Kraft, neue Hoffnung. Ich versteckte mich nicht mehr, ich lebte mit der Krankheit, die nun zu mir gehörte. Die Mode half mir dabei sehr, sie war schon immer mein ständiger Begleiter und dennoch lernte ich den Umgang mit ihr noch viel intensiver. Ich liebe es mich gut zu kleiden, spannende Farbkombinationen zu entwickeln und meinen Körper damit in ein anderes Licht zu rücken. Keiner sollte sich verstecken hinter schlecht sitzender Kleidung und das soll meine Botschaft auf diesem tollen Blog sein.

Leave a Comment

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

    • Liebe Catinka,

      Das ist ja bei jedem individuell. Ich persönlich trage liebend gerne Paul Green oder Gabor, habe aber auch keine extremen Fußprobleme. Mir ist die Verarbeitung und das Fußbett sehr wichtig….probier dich doch mal durch 😉

  • „da lohnt sich meiner Meinung nach auch ein höherer Preis“

    Die Frage ist nicht, ob man meint, ein höherer Preis lohne sich nicht. Und das Kaufen von Billigschuhen hat auch GAR NICHTS damit zu tun, dass man geizig wäre und deshalb „gerne auf Schuhe vom Supermarktdiscounter o. ä. zurückgreifen“ würde. „Gerne“. Solche Aussagen sind verletzend. Ich würde sehr gern bessere Schuhe kaufen, die nicht drücken und auch länger halten.

    Die Frage ist, wie man z. B. mit geringer EM-Rente und Aufstockung durch Sozialhilfe jemals rabattierte, aber immer noch teure Markenschuhe finanzieren soll. Weißt Du eigentlich, wie teuer Schuhe in Weite K und darüber sind? Zumal dann, wenn die auch noch einigermaßen gut aussehen sollen und nicht omahaft? Meine jetzigen Schuhe sind 3 JAhre alt, hatten 55,- € gekostet und waren die einzigen nach Sparen bezahlbaren, die ich in Weite K finden konnte, Marke Medicus von Deichmann, Nicht schön, aber Weite K. Ich kann nicht danach gehen, was mir gefällt, sondern was ich bezahlen kann. Diese Schuhe sind übrigens meine einzigen Schuhe =, für Frühling, Sommer, Herbst und Winter, Seit drei Jahren. Entsprechend ist deren Zustand.

    Bequeme und optimal auch noch gut aussehende Kleidung in Übergrößen ist nur möglich für Leute mit genug Geld. Aber nicht z. B. für Menschen wie mich, die mitten aus dem Berufsleben gerissen wurden und seitdem sehen müssen, wie sie zurechtkommen. Dann lesen zu müssen, man greife „gerne auf Schuhe vom Supermarktdiscounter o. ä.“ zürück und solle das doch bitte nicht tun (was man ja alles selber weiß und egtl. auch nicht möchte)
    l ist zynisch und verletzend.

    • Liebe Mia,

      Es tut mir so leid, dass dich mein Artikel so persönlich verletzt. Ich hoffe du glaubst mir, dass das nicht meine Absicht war!

      Wenn man in einer finanziellen Lage, wie du sie beschreibst, leben muss, ist mir völlig bewusst, dass man mit seinem Geld ganz anders wirtschaften muss und dass man eben manchmal keine anderen Möglichkeiten hat.

      Ich wünsche dir ein schönes Wochenende, viele Grüße.

      Jule

  • Hi Jule! Als ob ich es geahnt hätte, habe ich mir heute zwei Paar Schuhe angelacht: einmal Sandalen von Waldläufer in Weite H und einmal Gabor Stiefeletten beide von der letzten Saison, beide reduziert; wobei ich bei den Sandalen aus dem Sanitätshaus nachfragen müsste. Immerhin 10% gingen einfach so runter, weil ich nachgefragt habe.
    Ich stimme dir total zu: wenn man gute Schuhe hat, halten sie ja auch länger als eine Saison. Der schönste Modeschuh nutzt ja nicht, wenn ich damit mehr Schmerzen habe.
    Gerne hätte ich von dir noch ein paar Marken-Namen gewusst.

    • Hey du 🙂

      Na das war ja Schicksal!! Manchmal muss man dann einfach zuschlagem und ja- nochmal den Preis nachfragen, oft gibt es da noch Möglichkeiten!!

      Nei Marken tu ich mich immer schwer, da es absolut individuell ist. Ich liebe Paul Green, manchmal auch Gabor… aber ich benötige auch keine Mehrweite. So muss jeder da für sich irgendwo den richtigen Partner finden…

      Viele Grüße!!

  • Hallo
    Ich bin Anita 40 Jahre alt
    Mutter von drei Kindern und bekam
    Mitte letzten Jahres die Diagnose .
    Habe aber erst seit drei Tagen Gott sei Dank eine Strumpfhose.
    Welche Mode kann ich tragen ?

    • Hallo Anita,

      das ist ein wenig so, wie wenn du fragen würdest, welches Auto du fahren sollst. 🙂 Das kommt so sehr auf deinen Geschmack, deine Figur und dein Budget an.
      Viele kaufen jedoch bei Asos, C&A, Ulla Popken, Sheego oder Navabi ein. Es gibt viele Möglichkeiten.

      Liebe Grüße
      Caroline