What does the GdB bring for those affected by lipedema?

First of all: This article deals with small excerpts from the GdB. Questions about the application, what do I do if “too little GdB” comes out, are the subject of a separate article.

What does GdB mean?

This is short for Degree of disability.

With special needs? Not me, some might think. Especially since the choice of words “disability” has meanwhile been rejected as politically incorrect, especially by those affected. Most of the so-called “disabled people” prefer the term “handicap” with the argument that “we are not hindered by our physical condition, but by others”. Which is of course true, but the legislature usually has longer lead times here.

However, there are also important things to note and take to heart for us lipedema patients in this context.

What can be important for lipedema patients?

For limbs affected by lymphedema there is 0 - 10 as GdB (no, not percent, only GdB). In the "best" case, you get GdB 40. If your ability to walk is already significantly impaired, there is still no way to the G symbol and the associated exemptions in local transport (there will be a separate contribution to the G symbol) . Or, in terms of workplace technology, one does not yet benefit from termination difficulties for the employer. Here, every person affected should check very carefully whether they have really brought in all the impairments. The following often occur in conjunction with a lipedema disease:

  • Gonarthrosis, hip osteoarthritis due to the displacement of the leg axis
  • Back pain due to the unnatural curvature of the pronounced buttocks area when lying down
  • Dermatological damage, contact eczema, especially in the area between the thighs
  • depression
  • Diabetes

Unfortunately, there is no GdB for fibromyalgia or restless legs. However, the psychological and physical impairments caused by painful conditions must also be assessed by experts. Obesity as such does not count as a disease, even if it occurs in conjunction with lipedema, only its sequelae.

Handicapped or severely handicapped - what's the difference?

People with a GdB of at least 50 (§ 2 SGB IX) are considered severely disabled. Severely disabled people receive integration assistance (Sections 68 ff. SGB IX), enjoy special protection against dismissal (Sections 85 ff. SGB IX; this also applies to disabled people of equal status with a GdB of at least 30) as well as the right to additional leave (only in the case of severe disabilities, Section 125 SGB IX).

This is where a legally controversial question comes into play: Do you have to report a severe disability to the employer?  

This begins with the application and ends in the event of a termination for operational reasons. Only one thing is clear here: You don't have to state a disability without being asked. In most cases, this question concerns those who have not yet reached a severe disability, but who have a GdB of at least 30. If you submit an application for equality, the employer learns from the GdB. So here is the point to be weighed up: do I bring this into play or not?

Retire earlier?

With a GdB of at least 50 you can retire earlier. For those who find it harder and harder to work every year, this is a thoroughly worthwhile alternative. It should be noted here that the waiting period of 35 years must be fulfilled.

With this in mind, more about this and many other topics on this blog,

best regards,

Your Ruth Leitenmaier

ruth laitenmaier lipoedem fashion lawyer

Author: Ruth Leitenmaier

My focus is on social and medical law, tax law, inheritance law and senior law. I myself am a lipoedema patient, had an operation in 2016 and I am grateful that I escaped a less than good fate. Besides my family, art and literature are my constant companions. I like being in the great outdoors and I also have my balance in sports.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

  • In the "best" case, you get GdB 40. If your ability to walk is already significantly impaired, there is still no way to the G symbol and the associated exemptions in local transport (there will be a separate contribution to the G symbol) .

    To get an MZ, you need GDB 50.

  • If you have 35 years of age and the GdB of 50, you can retire at the age of 63 (or will be increased to 65) without any deductions

    • Then you couldn't apply for a GdB at 45? Because I don't have 35 years? That can not be. Rather you, I must have paid into the pension fund for 35 years.
      Or?

      • Dear Kunigunde, periods of raising children, receiving sick pay, care periods, i.e. not only periods of employment that are subject to pension insurance also count for periods subject to pension insurance. Of course, you can still apply for a GdB at the age of 45. The 35 years are only relevant if you want to retire earlier and this does not happen at all. Otherwise, the usual "benefits" of the GdB (improved protection against dismissal, travel discounts, tax reductions, etc.) count. Kind regards, Ruth

Was bringt der GdB für Lipödem Betroffene?

Vorab: Dieser Beitrag behandelt kleine Ausschnitte des GdB. Fragestellungen zum Antrag, was mache ich, wenn „zu wenig GdB“ herauskommt, sind Thema eines gesonderten Beitrags.

Was heißt GdB?

Das ist die Abkürzung für Grad der Behinderung.

Behindert? Ich doch nicht, mag sich da manche denken. Zumal die Wortwahl „Behinderung“ zwischenzeitlich ohnehin insbesondere von den Betroffenen als politisch nicht gerade korrekt abgelehnt wird. Die meisten der sog. „Behinderten“ bevorzugen den Begriff „Handicap“ mit dem Argument, „behindert werden wir nicht durch unseren körperlichen Zustand, sondern durch die anderen“. Was natürlich zutreffend ist, der Gesetzgeber jedoch hat hier meist längere Vorlaufzeiten.

Allerdings gibt es auch für uns Lipödempatientinnen in diesem Zusammenhang wichtige Dinge zu beachten und zu beherzigen.

Was kann für Lipödempatientinnen von Bedeutung sein?

Für von einem Lymphödem betroffene Gliedmaße gibt es 0 – 10 als GdB (nein, nicht Prozent, nur GdB). Im „günstigsten“ Falle kommt man so auf GdB 40. Ist man bereits erheblich in der Gehfähigkeit beeinträchtigt, ist insofern immer noch kein Weg zum Merkzeichen G und den damit verbundenen Befreiungen im Nahverkehr freigegeben (zum Merkzeichen G wird es noch einen eigenen Beitrag geben).  Oder auch arbeitsplatztechnisch kommt man noch nicht in den Genuss von Kündigungserschwernissen für den Arbeitgeber. Hier sollte jede Betroffene genauestens überprüfen, ob sie wirklich sämtliche Beeinträchtigungen mit eingebracht hat. Häufig im Verbund mit einer Lipödemerkrankung kommen vor:

  • Gonarthrose, Hüftarthrose aufgrund der der Verschiebung der Beinachse
  • Rückenbeschwerden aufgrund der unnatürlichen Krümmung der ausgeprägten Gesäßpartie im Liegen
  • Dermatologische Schäden, Kontaktekzeme insbesondere im Areal zwischen den Oberschenkeln
  • Depressionen
  • Diabetes

Auf Fibromyalgie oder Restless legs gibt es leider keinen GdB. Allerdings sind hier die psychischen und physischen Beeinträchtigungen durch Schmerzzustände gutachterlich ebenfalls zu werten. Auch Adipositas als solche zählt nicht als Krankheit, auch wenn sie im Verbund mit dem Lipödem vorkommt, lediglich deren Folgeerscheinungen.

Behindert oder schwerbehindert – was ist da der Unterschied?

Als schwerbehindert gelten Menschen mit einem GdB von mindestens 50 (§ 2 SGB IX). Schwerbehinderte erhalten Eingliederungshilfen (§§ 68 ff. SGB IX), genießen besonderen Kündigungsschutz (§§ 85 ff. SGB IX; dies gilt auch für gleichgestellte behinderte Menschen mit einem GdB von wenigstens 30) sowie ein Anspruch auf Zusatzurlaub (nur bei Schwerbehinderung, § 125 SGB IX).

Hier kommt auch eine rechtlich umstrittene Fragestellung ins Spiel: Muss man beim Arbeitgeber überhaupt eine Schwerbehinderung angeben?  

Dies beginnt bei der Bewerbung und endet im Falle einer betriebsbedingten Kündigung. Hier ist lediglich eine Sache klar: Man muss nicht ungefragt eine Behinderung angeben. Diese Fragestellung betrifft in den meisten Fällen diejenigen, die noch nicht bei einer Schwerbehinderung angelangt sind, jedoch einen GdB von wenigstens 30 haben. Stellt man einen Antrag auf Gleichstellung, erfährt der Arbeitgeber vom GdB. Hier will also abgewogen werden: Bringe ich das ins Spiel oder nicht?

Früher in Rente?

Mit einem GdB von mindestens 50 kann man früher in Altersrente gehen. Für diejenigen, denen die Berufstätigkeit mit jedem Jahr schwerer fällt, eine durchaus lohnende Alternative. Hier ist zu beachten, dass die Wartezeit von 35 Jahren erfüllt sein muss.

In diesem Sinne, mehr dazu und zu vielen weiteren Themen, auf diesem Blog,

liebe Grüße,

Eure Ruth Leitenmaier

ruth laitenmaier lipoedem mode rechtsanwaeltin

Author: Ruth Leitenmaier

Meine Schwerpunkte sind Sozial- und Medizinrecht, Steuerrecht, Erbrecht und Seniorenrecht. Ich bin selbst Lipödempatientin, im Jahr 2016 operiert und dankbar, einem nicht so guten Schicksal entronnen zu sein. Außer meiner Familie sind Kunst und Literatur meine steten Begleiter. Ich bin gerne in der freien Natur und habe meinen Ausgleich auch im Sport.

Leave a Comment

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

  • Im „günstigsten“ Falle kommt man so auf GdB 40. Ist man bereits erheblich in der Gehfähigkeit beeinträchtigt, ist insofern immer noch kein Weg zum Merkzeichen G und den damit verbundenen Befreiungen im Nahverkehr freigegeben (zum Merkzeichen G wird es noch einen eigenen Beitrag geben).

    Um ein MZ zu bekommen, benötigt man GDB 50.

  • Wenn du sie 35 Jare hast und den GdB von 50 hast, kannst du mit 63 Jahre (bzw. wird angehoben analog auf 65) ohne Abschläge in Rente gehen

    • Dann könnte man mit 45 keinen GdB mehr beantragen? Weil ich die 35 Jahre nicht habe? Das kann nicht sein. Eher dich ich muss 35bjahre in die Rentenkasse eingezahlt haben.
      Oder?

      • Liebe Kunigunde, es zählen für rentenversicherungspflichtige Zeiten auch Zeiten der Kindererziehung, des Krankengeldbezug, Pflegezeiten, also nicht nur rentenversicherungspflichtige Beschäftigungszeiten. Natürlich kannst Du mit 45 Jahren noch einen GdB beantragen. die 35 Jahre sind nur dann maßgeblich, wenn man früher in Rente gehen möchte und diese partout nicht zustande kommen. Ansonsten zählen die üblichen „VErgünstigungen“ des GdB (verbesserter Kündigungsschutz, Fahrtermäßigungen, Steuerermäßigungen u. ä.). Liebe Grüße, Ruth